Just because I’m from Hawaii doesn’t mean that when I go back it’s all beaches
and sunshine–I work hard, too.

But who am I kidding, it’s mostly beaches and sunshine. 🙂

13403822_10154572676402841_5699359897143443206_o

Magical Mokuluas 53×24, watercolor, ink and wax on paper

On my last trip, I stopped by Island Treasures Art Gallery like I always do because, let’s face it, it’s an amazing place filled with authentic local art. Those of you who have been there know what I’m talking about!

The difference this time is that I met with the owner and showed her photographs of my wax scrolls to see if she’d be interested in carrying them. I barely got to the second image before she said yes, so I’m excited to announce that I’m now represented by a gallery in my hometown of Kailua!

This is been a goal for me for a long time but I’ve never tried because shipping is so expensive between Hawaii and the mainland. The scrolls give me a way to bridge that gap because they can be rolled up in a tube which means people can purchase them and take them anywhere.

The gallery also asked me to create a scroll featuring the iconic Mokulua islands just off of Lanikai beach where I spend much of my time when I’m home. That was a fun challenge and one of the most specific compositions I’ve done with the scrolls. I bumped up the vibrant colors for them–if there were a scale I think it would read tropical explosion!

If you find yourself on Oahu, I hope you’ll stop by and see my newest work:

Island Treasures Art Gallery
602 Kailua Rd
Kailua, HI

If you’d like to learn how to make these scrolls yourself, check out my online scrolls class where I’ll take you through the materials and techniques plus you can watch me make a 5 foot long scroll from start to finish!

______________________________________

Linda Robertson is the author of the Embracing Encaustic Book series and she offers live encaustic workshops in her Portland, Oregon studio as well as online encaustic classes.

 

Join My Mailing List

Online Encaustic Classes



RobertsonWorkshops.com online video classes bring Linda Robertson, an art teacher with international experience, right into your studio. Work at your own pace and watch the videos as many times as you want for a whole year.

Categories

My Books: Embracing Encaustic Series

There are now two books under the Embracing Encaustic title, Learning to Paint with Beeswax and the new title Advanced Techniques for Mixing Media, each focusing on specific encaustic techniques. Between the two books there are a total of 70 artists who share their work, reveal their personal painting methods and explain why they are compelled to make the work they do.Find out more and purchase them online here.

Embracing Encaustic: Learning to Paint with Beeswax
By Linda Robertson

Archives

Follow Me on Twitter

Leave a Reply

