new-years-2016The New Year is upon us which always comes as quite a shock to me. It seems like just yesterday I was ringing in the new year with my neighbors, watching fireworks and banging on pots and pans (I know, #oldschool). I decided to shake things up last night by dancing in the new year at a Bollywood dance party!

Like many of you, I’ve looked back and celebrated my 2015 highlights, feeling proud of my accomplishments. Among them I had three big art events in Seattle and Portland, launched two new books in my Embracing Encaustic series, went on several short trips with friends and family, and taught four sold out sessions of my 5-day Wax Week workshops to artists from 4 countries and all across the US and Canada.

hanging-show

Installing my work at the AIR Gallery in Portland, Oregon with fellow artists Kelly Williams and Karl Kaiser.

I am also conscious of a few disappointments, including not getting back to home to see my family last year and missing two major art retrospectives that I was really excited about. Why? Because I was too busy. Because I didn’t make a good enough plan to get there. Because I was going with the flow.

In that respect I want 2016 to be very different. I’m going to take time early in the year to plan what I want to do and a reasonable way to make it happen.

Don’t get me wrong, going with the flow is sometimes exactly what you need and sometimes simply all you can possibly do, but it does allow time to slip away, quietly and steadily. But I feel like it’s time for a shift. Don’t you? So today I challenge you not to look back, but to look forward.

What do you want to remember about 2016 and how can you make that happen?

Whatever it is, if it happens on a certain date then get it on your calendar NOW. If it can happen any time, pick a date and honor it. What steps will it take to get you there? Can you do any of them this week? It would be a great start to your new year!

Me? I just booked my trip to Hawaii to see my family and I am finalizing my plans for teaching in New York again this fall.

I’ve already shared some of these exciting projects in my last newsletter, and I’ll be revealing some new classes in my next one so if we aren’t connected yet be sure to join my mailing list for all the updates. I wish you all a very happy new year!

______________________________________

Linda Robertson is the author of the Embracing Encaustic Book series and she offers live encaustic workshops in her Portland, Oregon studio as well as online encaustic classes.

