Colorful Wax ScrollsWhen Fred Swan and I had our show together People’s Art gallery a couple of years ago we looked at those big beautiful windows with the light streaming in and knew something special was going to happen there.

After some discussion about what would best fill that space we were intrigued by the idea of wax scrolls. We worked independently on them, then brought our creations together as an installation in that front window. Having so many panels of paper and wax with that delicate natural light penetrating them filled the space with energy and movement. It was beautiful! People were very excited about the feel and scent of these art works, as well as their visual appeal.

Since that show I’ve made (a lot!) more scrolls and I’ve come up with new ways to add color and patterns to the paper, cut outs to be removed and reattached and a new way to hang them. It’s such a relaxing and meditative process, but it also gives you the instant satisfaction of making a 5 foot long piece of art in a day! If you’d like to try this yourself come see me in my Portland, Oregon studio this Saturday, 9/27. There are just a few spots left in this class and it won’t be offered again until next summer. If you’re not in the area join my mailing list to be notified when my online class for this is ready! I’m making big plans for that right now…

Here's Fred on the ladder installing one of the panels at our show

Here’s Fred on the ladder installing one of the panels at our show

This is the view of our installation from inside the gallery.

This is the view of our installation from inside the gallery.

Perparing paper scrolls

Dorothy working on her scroll in one of my recent classes

New designs

Here’s a set of scrolls I made recently with several new techniques

Lit scrollsWax Scrolls

