mm-frontI’m happy to announce my inclusion in a new book called 101 Mixed Media Techniques that’s just been published by Water-Foster. This expansive book features many talented mixed media artists and I’m excited to be among those invited to participate. I was in charge of the section on encaustic, focusing on mixing wax with other media. I created projects that incorporate charcoal, graphite, dried plants, rubber stamps, felt, fabric and foil.

[Please note that this is NOT the new version of my previous book, Embracing Encaustic. I’m still working on that and will have an update here soon!]

Printed books still take a long time to publish, so I had agreed to do the book quite a while ago when things were going a little bit easier in my life. When it was time to do the actual projects and photographs things were much more complicated, but a deadline is a beautiful thing sometimes, especially for me!

My wonderful friend Kimberly Kent helped me so that I could take the photographs as she demonstrated the techniques under my direction. Doesn’t she have beautiful hands? And it doesn’t hurt that she and I have been friends for a long time so we had fun doing it. Another bonus is that she’s a very talented painter in her own right so she knows exactly how to hold the tools and what I was trying to teach through the photographs. Also, we might have had some wine.

I’m really happy with how the book came out and I hope you’ll get a chance to see it in person. I have a few copies for sale in my studio so if you take a class in my studio ask if I have any available. Otherwise you can get it at Amazon.com or through local bookstores.

What it really looks like in my studio when shooting photographs or video.

What it really looks like in my studio when shooting photographs or video.

MM-in-quilt______________________________________

Linda Robertson offers encaustic workshops in her Portland, Oregon studio as well as online encaustic classes at RobertsonWorkshops.com.

