It’s that time again! Information on demos, lectures, exhibits and workshops for the 4th Annual Encaustic Conference in Beverly, Massachusetts is now online and registration starts January 15!

Conference Director (and encaustic painter extraordinaire) Joanne Mattera has scheduled the conference for June 11 – 13, with three days of post-conference workshops. I will be doing a new demo this year on Embedded Drawings and Photographs. I hope to see some of you there!

Several post-conference workshops will be offered this year, though I won’t have time to teach one because I have to get back in town for the Luminous Layers show. One that I’d like to highlight is a very unusual offering by my friend, Portland artist Kimberly Kent.

Students will paint outside with a butane stove and torch

Plein Air Encaustic

The term en plein air comes from the French, “in the open air.” The technique refers to landscape painting completed on site, in a natural setting. This is a special challenge for encaustic painters because that means no electricity! Kimberly will teach you how to pack up one small bag of equipment so you can paint anywhere your heart desires, then take you on a field trip to do just that. Better yet, she will supply all the equipment needed for your journey.

Kimberly will teach a similar workshop out of my studio in the spring. If you are interested in begin notified when this class is offered in Oregon, please join my mailing list.

