October is a big month for me every year, but this one has been busier than usual. First I attended the annual  International Encaustic Artists Retreat in Carmel and now I’m in the middle of Portland Open Studios.

The Retreat

For some reason I thought the retreat would be relaxing, but no so much. Thankfully what kept me so busy was meeting new friends, selling books, and opening my mind to new ideas and experiences. It was such a rush to be at “encaustic camp” with 65 other artists, all passionate about our medium. Our wonderful organizer, Cari Hernandez, has some wonderful photos on her FaceBook page.

Portland Open Studios

pos-studio

This beloved annual event turns 10 this year and is  stronger than ever! Visit the studios of a diverse group of 100 artists working in their chosen media including painting, sculpting, blowing glass and much more. last weekend was packed and I’ll be working again this weekend, so if you’d like to see how I paint with encaustic stop by for a demonstration:

Hive Studio
5417 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97215
Corner of SE 55th and Stark St.
Oct. 10, 11, 17, 18 from 10 am – 5 pm

I have the Portland Open Studio Tour Guides available for $15, which covers 2 adults for both weekends and the kids are free! Please contact me if you’d like to buy one, or come by my studio on the day of the event and pick one up. You can also purchase them at several other locations including ArtMedia and New Seasons.

This beloved annual event turns 10 this year and is  stronger than ever! Visit the studios of a diverse group of 100 artists working in their chosen media including painting, sculpting, blowing glass and much more. I’ll be working both weekends, so if you’d like to see how I paint with encaustic stop by for a demonstration:

Hive Studio
5417 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97215
Corner of SE 55th and Stark St.
Oct. 10, 11, 17, 18 from 10 am – 5 pm

I’m trying something new this year: a silent auction of some of my older work starting at very reasonable prices. There will be at least 8 pieces up for auction ranging from smaller works up to 30″ x 30″! I’m trying to work out a way for those of you who are out of town to have a chance to bid as well.

I have the Portland Open Studio Tour Guides available now for $15, which covers 2 adults for both weekends and the kids are free! Please contact me if you’d like to buy one, or come by my studio on the day of the event and pick one up. You can also purchase them at several other locations including ArtMedia, or online using the link above.

