Beautiful work created by several sutdents in my class at JCC

Beautiful work created by several students in my class including Suzanne, Zoey, Pat, Carol and Nan. Great work everyone!

I’m back from teaching a week long encaustic painting workshop at the John C. Campbell Folk School in beautiful Brasstown, North Carolina. Frontier Airlines managed to break most of my hot palettes on the way over so it was a very rocky start, but it ended with lots of new friends and 8 happy students. One of them even told me I changed her life, which is well worth the price of a few pancake griddles.

I’ve got some photos to share and even a short video tour of our amazing studio, then it’s back to reconstructing my own studio for classes in Portland. Enjoy!

Stephen masks out areas of his paiting with tape while Lori experiments with a new color

Stephen masks out areas of his painting with tape while Lori experiments with a new color

Carol used alcohol inks on her board before waxing to get a nice effect

Carol used alcohol inks on her board before waxing to get a nice effect

mary6

Guest artist Mary Farmer discussing her work with my class

Suzanne and Zoey look on as Mary and I ham it up.

Suzanne and Zoey look on as Mary and I ham it up.

My buddy Mary Farmer recently moved to nearby Asheville and was kind enough to join us for a day to discuss her process and approach to painting in encaustic. She brought two of her larger paintings which were a real treat to see in person. Mary is one of the artists featured in my book, Embracing Encaustic: Learning to Paint with Beeswax.

art-stephen2 art-lori

Stephens painting was a class favorite (left) and Lori was fearless in experimenting with color and line (right).

Patty explains the process to some visitors to the class.

Patty explains the process to some visitors to the class.

art-patty art-pat2

Patty tried something a little more abstract here and it really worked (left) while this intriguing piece by Pat (right) was the result of one of her very first paintings.

Nan and Zoey try to finish a few more pieces before the show

Nan and Zoey try to finish a few more pieces before the show

At the end of the week each class shows work in the community room so we can see what everyone learned. I was very proud of the quality of art and how hard everyone worked all week. Even with long hours we still managed to have lots of fun!

At the end of the week each class shows work in the community room so we can see what everyone learned. I was very proud of the quality of art and how hard everyone worked all week. Even with long hours we still managed to have lots of fun!

And finally, here’s a short video tour of our very well appointed painting studio:

Thanks to all of you for a wonderful week!

Thanks to all of you for a wonderful week!

