tryon-treetops

Let’s see, what should I do on my day off when it’s freezing outside, there are high wind warnings and trees and branches down all over town? Right! A walk in the woods of course.  No, I’m not crazy (well, maybe a little stir crazy) but I can NOT sit at my computer for one more minute. The sun is out and I need to be out there too, so I packed up the family and we headed off to Tryon Creek State Park.

tryon-sun

We always have fun here, but today we have a special treat. The park sponsors an annual art installation called Natural Cycles: A Celebration of Art in the Forest. The installations change once a year and the new group has just been unveiled. I’ve always wanted to make a proposal for this but have never gotten around to it. Next year?

Fung-US by Vicki Lynn Wilson

Fung-US by Vicki Lynn Wilson

I think this might have been my favorite piece. The installation is woven throughout several trees and I didn’t even notice it until a tiny ladder caught my eye. Vicki created a miniature civilization, with each piece fitting the contour of its specific tree. The inhabitants of this culture are left to our imaginations. Or maybe we just haven’t noticed them yet.

Nontrivial Pursuit by Julie Lindell

Nontrivial Pursuit by Julie Lindell

Julie’s installation resembles a giant knitting ball. The ball of yarn, made of sticks and found objects, stands ten feet around. Pierced by gigantic knitting needles, the installation might make you think again before casitng off tha old keyboard or saw…

There are several more installations, one of which we missed entirely because it was so well integrated into the forest! After reading the signage we had to go back and look for it. Instead of listing them all here I encourage you to go explore for yourself if you’re in the area. If anyone knwos of other installations like this please leave a comment here so more people can find them and enjoy a walk in the woods for themselves.

