Bill and Linda at Lanikai Beach in Hawaii, 2008

It’s in the 20’s here in Portland and I’m freezing! My body is seriously resisting winter weather. It’s understandable, because just 10 days ago I was ankle deep in pristine white sand on world famous Lanikai beach in Hawaii.

I can still hear the waves, but the warmth of the sun on my skin has faded quickly. Luckily the sand we inadvertently brought back with us will last for months. My husband Bill and I went to visit my sister for Thanksgiving and take a well deserved (and very rare) vacation in my home town of Kailua on the island of O’ahu. It felt to me like I hadn’t taken a deep breath in a long time and it was long overdue. This is the place to do it.

If you’ve ever wondered what inspires my paintings, view the video below:

After we returned, life took off again on the roller coaster we’ve become accustomed to and I kept running out of time to post these images. Today I decided enough was enough, and that I can find time to share my fun. Click on the photo below to see more images from our trip.

Click on the photo above to see more images from our Hawaii trip!

Click on the photo above to see more images from our Hawaii trip!

P.S. So the photo at the top was less than 2 weeks ago, and the photo below is yesterday. A good reminder of how quickly things change in life…not just the weather.

Snow fell as it reached a high (and low) of 22 degrees in Portland

Snow fell as it reached a high (and low) of 22 degrees in Portland

