Kimberly Kent is the new IEA Oregon Chapter Leader

Kimberly Kent is the new IEA Oregon Chapter Leader

What a weekend! It all started Friday night when I got together with my painter friends for our monthly IEA meeting. I founded the Oregon Chapter of the International Encaustic Artists almost two years ago and it has grown steadily ever since. I was recently invited by the board to become the International Chapter Director, helping members start up local chapters in their area. I knew I couldn’t do this in addition to my work in Portland, so I was thrilled when my buddy Kimberly Kent, founder of CUBE Gallery offered to take over. She is perfect for the position.

On Saturday and Sunday I taught my Beyond Basics encaustic class with an advanced workshop on Sunday. Half of my students came from Canada to take my classes, do some shopping and enjoy our beautiful summer weather. I guess two out of three ‘aint bad (It rained. HARD). Everyone had a great time, including me! What a great group.

After class on Saturday my husband Bill and I took off for one of our favorite annual events: Portland Taiko. Growing up in Hawaii the Asian traditions were integral to my life and watching taiko drumming was one of my favorite events. I say watching instead of listening because taiko is so much more than the sound. It’s a visual feast as well, and when seen live you can feel the drum beats pulse through your body. It’s magical!

I also received some welcomed news on Saturday that my work has been accepted for publication in Studio Visit Magazine, the publishers of New American Painting. They received almost 1000 entries but I made the cut and my work will be featured in the publication due out next spring. It is delivered to 2,000 gallery and museum representatives free of charge, so it’s a great opportunity for me to get more exposure for me work.

