Wow, what a busy weekend! We had a great book release party on Friday for Embracing Encaustic: Learning to Paint with Beeswax and lots of friends came by to wish us well. If you couldn’t make ti to the party here in Portland, here’s a taste of the fun.

My husband Bill was instrumental in getting this book to press so it was a real family celebration. We had books for sale at the party but they will be available to everyone else online by June 15. First we have the really BIG party at the National Encaustic Conference next week near Boston. I plan to blog about the conference most days I’m there, so watch this space for updates from the road.

I spent Saturday finishing up three new paintings the I’ve been working on for a while now. They are all quite different and the first one below was a big surprise even to me. I imagined it in my head, did one quick sketch and after many hours in the studio, there it was. If you’ve seen my work you’ll know it’s quite a departure. I’m still not sure how I feel about it so I’d love to hear comments you might have. I find I’m getting closer and closer to what and how I want to paint but I’m not quite there yet. I’d love to hear what you think.

Growing Too Wise

Growing Too Wise, 32″ x 16″, Encaustic, oil, tissue, ink, foil

Seeing Beyond, 12″ x 12″, encaustic, oil

Naive Grace, 13″ x 27″, Encaustic, oil, tissue, ink (click to see larger)


