As many of you already know, I’m participating in The Diptych Project: A Collaboration in Wax, which matched 36 artists into pairs to work collaboratively on 2 encaustic paintings. The objective was for each pair of artists to make two diptychs (a diptych is work made up of two panels). In January I posted an image of my first panel, but now both sets are done!

Here’s my panel for the Oregon show, with the full diptych below.

Linda’s OR diptych

My half of the Growing Pains panel, with the complete work below.

diptych - both panels

Growing Pains (Diptych), 24″ x 38″, Encaustic, wood, tissue on wood panel. (Left panel: Linda Womack. Right panel: Sara Ameigh)

I was paired with Sara Ameigh and her panel is on the right. Her work is so different from mine that I had a tough time figuring out what to do on my half. I knew my side would have to be simple and calm to balance her side, but I couldn’t decide what to do. After 3 months of consideration my side came together in just three days. (Three very longs day, mind you!) and I’m happy with the result.

I extended the black line from her panel into mine and echoed the orange color and the round shapes in her work with the image of the flower buds in mine. It is titled Growing Pains because that relates to my botanical image trying to exist within the chaos that surrounds it, but it also reflects the process Sara and I had to go through to make a collaborative work like this. It’s pretty tough to work collaboratively when you can never be in the same room! Our finished work for the Maine show is below.

Maine Diptych

What Lies Beneath (Diptych), 24″ x 38″, Encaustic, wood, tissue, dried leaf, on wood panel. (Left panel: Sara Ameigh. Right panel: Linda Womack.)

The completed diptychs will be debut next week Friday (April 4) in Portland, ME and Portland, OR. The east coast exhibit will be held at Whitney Art Works in Portland, Maine, while the west coast works will be shown at Brian Marki Fine Art in Portland, Oregon. Each artist’s work will also be exhibited as a part of this year’s 2008 National Encaustic Conference in Massachusetts this June. (To see posts about the 2007 conference go here.)

