Ruth and LindaMy mother-in-law, Ruth, was in town this weekend from Tennessee to join me for the second half of Portland Open Studios. On Friday she tried her hand at her first encaustic painting and did a great job. Seriously, I think she’s hooked. We painted all afternoon and while she worked on her painting I continued to prepare my work for the Guardino Gallery’s Little Things show in December. more to come on that later.

Ruth paint

On Saturday we braved the rain and wind along with fellow artist Diane Archer to get to 5 or 6 artists on the west side of Portland and we had a great time! So much fun, that I forgot to take photos. Sorry…

Ruth and Bill

On Sunday we headed out to the Pumpkin Patch on Sauvie Island to get our Halloween decorations. The mud was so squishy that it practically sucked our shoes right off of our feet, which made my dog Sadie very, VERY happy.

Ruth Portrait

I’ve had a great weekend playing with the family and Ruth’s visit served as a good reminder to take a day off every now and again no matter how much work you think you have to do. You know I’m right…

