POS demo 2

Oh my! Portland Open Studios was busy, busy, busy this weekend. What a great time! I think a lot of people stopped by because they read about me in the Southeast Examiner, which featured a great article on Portland Open Studios and has a photograph of me working on one of my encaustic paintings.

There’s usually a time or two over the weekend when my space is completely full of people and I make my little joke, “Did you all pull up together in a bus or something?” Usually everyone laughs a little and we move on. This weekend, TWICE, it was pretty much true. One was a caravan of 10 cars traveling together so this group of friends could all enjoy the tour together, but another time it was an actual yellow school bus! I think their teacher said they said they were art students from Linfield College in McMinnville. What a great idea!

POS demo 6

The weekend went very well and I met lots of wonderful new friends. My classes sold out so quickly that I had to add another one Saturday night. Since I only teach 4 students at a time in my studio that additional class also booked up so I’m looking at adding more classes after the new year. If you already know the basics of working with wax, there are still a few spots left in some of my advanced classes. If you are interested in receiving my free monthly art events newsletter, which includes class schedules, join my mailing list.

* * Don’t forget, Portland Open Studios continues on the west side of Portland next weekend, October 20 & 21. *

