Today I made my annual pilgrimage to Portland’s own art fair, The Affair @ The Jupiter Hotel. Honestly there isn’t always much that resonates with me at this fair, but I never fail to find a few galleries or artists that I find interesting. This year they were offering an intriguing lecture so I attended that too.

Doing business

The lecture was in support of a book printed by the event organizers called DOING BUSINESS, a compilation of private documents and correspondences made public. They asked current and past attendees of the Affair @ the Jupiter Hotel to search their archives for lively emails, faxes, photos, transcripts, and receipts that would reveal some of the strategies and satisfactions of dealing with contemporary art. There are some truly odd pieces of correspondence between galleries and artists, wax splattered contracts, and even a heart breaking lost dog poster. The true art world revealed?

Panel at Jupiter Hotel

L – R: Stuart Horodner (Affair Co-Founder), Jason Fulford (J&L Books), Corin Hewitt (artist, NY), Lisa Baldessera (Art Gallery of Greater Victoria), Apsara DiQuinzio (SF MOMA) talk about history, audience, commerce, and conflicts and capacity.

Suzanne Truman

As I mentioned earlier, I always manage to find a few galleries I love and today was no exception. There are always local galleries with a great selection including Mark Woolley, Laura Russo, and Augen Gallery. I also had a lovely talk with Maryann Deffenbaugh of Pulliam Deffenbaugh Gallery about Brenden Clenaghen who does mesmerizing paintings on wood using joint compund as a sculptural element just as I do.

My first new discovery was Stewart Gallery, from Boise, Idaho, with the only encaustic pieces in the whole event. I was quite taken by the sculpture of Deborah Barrett, as well as the two artists working in wax, Suzanne Truman (work pictured above) and Christel Dillbohner. Treat yourself to a few minutes on Christel’s web site to see installation views of her work, especially the site specific work she did in Boise, The Green Pool, consisting of 365 pigmented and waxed paper cones creating a floating field, suspended from the ceiling.

Ann Wood

I also met two fun and lively women from Tinlark Gallery in Hollywood, California who introduced me to the work of Ann Wood. I fell in love with her sweet stuffed owl (pictured above) constructed from the fabric of Edwardian lawn gowns. I was directed to her blog for more information and it doesn’t disappoint. To see her work in progress (you know how I LOVE to see that) visit Ann’s blog.

