Wow, what a week! First I published my book, Embracing Encaustic, and now it will be featured later today as Book of the Week on Blurb’s blog. I’m very excited because many more people will be introduced to the excitement of encaustic painting. You can also now see an actual preview of the first 15 pages of my book on the Blurb site.

Next up is the National Encaustic Painting Conference in Boston this weekend. I leave tonight and will have limited access to the web and email so the blog may be dark until I return. I’m one of the featured artists in the juried show hosted by the Montserrat College of Art.

The juror was Zola Solamente, Director of Arden Gallery in Boston, who said in her statement “It was an honor to review presentations from encaustic artists across the country. I knew at the onset that this would be a unique experience of viewing works by innovative and courageous souls, undaunted by employing a challenging yet rewarding medium. I was not disappointed. There proved to be a breadth of inventive techniques and results. I believe this exhibition of art will serve to educate and inspire viewers. There is no hiding the fact that encaustic, in the hands of our contemporary masters, is unparalleled in its versatility and beauty.”

OK, folks – that’s it! I’ll be back next week. Take care…

