This weekend we took the final photographs for my book Embracing Encaustic! Naturally it took a lot longer than I originally thought but they came out really well. The image below shows my dog Sadie getting into the shot, AGAIN.

Photo shoot for book

These photos are raw from the photo shoot, but it will give you an idea of what I’m doing with this book. I’ve modified the table of contents slightly so now it will include:

  • Introduction to Encaustic Painting
  • Getting Started
  • Tools and Techniques
  • Mixing Encaustic Medium
  • Making Your Own Paint
  • Encaustic Gallery
  • Resources for ordering materials, tools & more

Mixing encaustic paint

I give written directions from some of the techniques I use to all of my workshop participants, but this book will encapsulate those into a handy reference book. My handouts don’t have photographs, so that’s a big bonus here too.

Mixing Damar resin for encaustic painting

I’ll request a proof of the book today and it will take about a week and a half to arrive. If you’d like to be notified when the book is ready, please join the notification list at http://www.embracingencaustic.com.

