pub_lw-casualIt’s been way too long since I sent out an update on what’s happening with my art and my life but honestly I wasn’t really sure what to say. Those of you who follow me on Facebook may know that the past several months have held a lot of challenges for me including major changes to just about every part of my personal and professional life.

I’ve moved my home and studio, I’m single again after 20 years (yikes!) and am taking back my given name of Linda Robertson. I’ll use Linda Robertson Womack for a while so you’ll see that transition happen gradually, but I’ve already activated the web address for lindarobertsonarts.com. Baby steps, right?

All of these changes have dramatically slowed the many projects I was working on last year and I’m just starting to get everything back on track now, but I thought you’d want an update even if it’s not all worked out yet. Read on for what to expect in the coming months.

I also want to thank so many of you who have sent me words of encouragement over the last few months. I’ve read every message and responded to as many as I could but I know I missed some of you and for that I apologize. Your words have helped me more than you know and I truly am grateful for your good thoughts.

So, What’s Happening With…?

I’ve been hearing this question a lot lately on several subjects. Here’s the scoop:

New, New Studio Location

Wait, didn’t you just move your studio last summer? Why yes, yes I did. Then I bought a new house in completely the wrong direction from the new studio. The good news is that now I have a great studio space at home less than 5 miles from my long time Stark Street studio so it should still be convenient for everyone. Here’s a photo of what it look like now. I’ll be working hard this week putting on a few finishing touches.

Live Workshops

Speaking of classes, I just posted my full summer schedule which includes two Wax Week classes in Portland. I’ll offer a 5-day class exploring Encaustic & Photography in June and another 5-day class on Mixed Media in July. Seats will be very limited so if you’d like to join in don’t wait!

Embracing Encaustic eBook

Ah yes, the eBook. This project really got hit hard and has been long delayed. I’ve been in contact with the amazing artists who will be featured in the eBook and they have been extremely supportive of my new circumstances. I won’t try to give you a publishing date just yet but I will say this will be the top priority for me once my studio is settled so it’s coming soon, I promise! Thanks to all of you who are so excited to see the new version. I’m pretty excited to see it myself.

Online Classes

It’s making me crazy that I had just finished filming the new surface design class when everything went south. It turned out really well and I can’t wait to share it with you. I still need to get it edited and write all the class notes which will take some time, but I’ll get it online as soon as I can.

In the meantime those of you who have already bought online classes can rest easy, your classes won’t expire anytime soon so please enjoy them while I work out the process of how these will work going forward. That goes for everyone right now, so if you’re thinking about joining our online community now is the time to get extra time in the classes — each just $49! (And yes, I know the name will have to change, but I haven’t figured that part out yet. I’m open to suggestions!)

